The Apocalypse of Jesus

John’s Book of Revelation

The Apocalypse of Jesus (Revelation 1:1-20)

An apostle in exile receives the first of many visions, and begins writing the book that we now call Revelation, or “The Apocalypse”.

The Point of the Apocalypse (Revelation 2:1-3:22)

Jesus tells John to write seven introductory letters to seven churches, letting them know that if they want to understand the visions that follow, they are going to have to ask for help.

What is Now (Revelation 4:1-11)

John experiences a second change of setting, and begins to see reality — all of reality — from a whole different perspective.

The Book of Truth (Revelation 5:1-14)

As an old man, John witnesses the replay of an event he first experienced as a youth, but this time he sees it from a whole different perspective…and this changes everything.

What Must Soon Take Place (Revelation 6:1-17)

John has already seen “what is now”, and now it is time to see “what must soon take place”. But “soon” turns out to be sooner than expected…

Who Can Withstand the Great Day? (Revelation 7:1-17)

As the vision of “what must soon take place” continues, John finds himself time-travelling backwards yet again, to view an instant replay of history from yet another perspective.

The Collapse of Civilizations (Revelation 8:1-13)

Just when it looks like judgement is complete and every tear finally wiped away, somehow everything starts up all over again! — but even worse this time around.

Gods and Monsters (Revelation 9:1-21)

John’s visions take a truly dark turn, as gods fall from the heavens and monsters come boiling up from the deep.

The Book of Truth, Part 2 (Revelation 10:1-11)

Just when John is expecting the seventh trumpet to sound and bring everything to an end, a mighty angel interrupts the flow and introduces yet another mystery.

The Foundation of the City of God (Revelation 11:1-6)

John is given a tool and a task to accomplish, and it is only as he sets to work that things begin to make sense.

Scroll to top