The Covenant

Exodus, Book 3 (15:22 through 24:11)

The Fourth Word: Rest (Exodus 20:8-11)

The Lord tells his people to put boundaries around one particular day of the week. But how can boundaries be placed around a day?

The Third Word: Hypocrisy (Exodus 20:7)

The Lord continues to explain that true love means not misusing his name. But why is cussing such a big deal?

The Second Word: Idolatry (Exodus 20:4-6)

The Lord goes on to explain that one practical way to love him is to flee from idolatry. But why is idolatry such a big deal?

The First Word: Love (Exodus 20:1-3)

Having formed his new government, the Lord begins to define his relationship with Israel. The first rule? Love me as I have loved you.

The Arrival of God (Exodus 19:16-25)

God finally descends to meet his people, but even after all their preparations his people are still not ready.

The Arrival of the People (Exodus 19:1-25)

Israel finally arrives at the mountain on the far side of the wilderness, and begin their preparations to meet with God.

The Sixth Test In the Wilderness: Organization (Exodus 18:13-27)

As the people get used to the idea that Moses speaks directly for God, an unexpected problem arises.

The Fifth Test In the Wilderness: Reconciliation (Exodus 18:1-12)

The leader of yet another foreign nation approaches God’s people, but this time the nature of the test is not as clear.

The Fourth Test In the Wilderness: War (Exodus 17:8-16)

God decides his children are finally ready for the test he did not want to give them at first — and for the first time, they pass.

Re-Sitting the First Test In the Wilderness: Thirst (Exodus 17:1-7)

God leads his people into a third crisis, which is really a chance for them to re-sit their first exam. This time, however, they are no longer a baby nation, and the expectations are greater.

Scroll to top